Seasonal Influenza Prevention and Control:
Strategies for Head Start and Child Care Programs

Presented by:

Head Start National Center on Health
Healthy Child Care America
American Academy of Pediatrics Disaster Preparedness and Response Initiatives

Thursday, August 22, 2013

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM Pacific
12:00 PM – 1:30 PM Mountain
1:00 PM – 2:30 PM Central
2:00 PM – 3:30 PM Eastern

Children in group care settings are at increased risk for infectious diseases such as influenza. Seasonal influenza affects many children each year, and simple prevention and control strategies can help to protect children and their caregivers from unnecessary influenza complications. This Webinar and relevant resources will help early education and child care providers in all settings to identify strategies and take steps to improve influenza prevention and control.

Join the Head Start National Center on Health, Healthy Child Care America, and the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Disaster Preparedness and Response Initiatives for a 90-minute overview of:

  • Influenza and why it can be serious in children
  • Seasonal influenza recommendations for 2013-14 and why it’s critical for children and their caregivers to get vaccinated every year
  • Strategies to prevent or control the spread of influenza in Head Start and child care settings
  • Key resources

Participation in this Webinar is free. The Webinar will be recorded and posted to the Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center (ECLKC) Web site and Healthy Child Care America Web site for later viewing.

Participants will receive a certificate of participation upon completion of an on-line Webinar evaluation. A link to the evaluation will be available when the Webinar closes. Please note: participants MUST complete the on-line evaluation in order to receive a certificate. Only participants who view the LIVE Webinar will be eligible for a certificate.

In addition, after the evaluation link is closed, 100 programs with participating staff will be randomly selected to receive a complimentary copy of the AAP manual, “Managing Infectious Diseases in Child Care and Schools: A Quick Reference Guide”!

After registering, participants will receive a confirmation e-mail with information on how to join the Webinar on August 22nd. The Webinar will last approximately 90 minutes.

Already Registered? Log In Now
Email:

Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* indicates required field)

First Name*:
Last Name*:
Company*:
Role/Position*:
City*:
Email*:
Postal Code*:
State/Province*:
Head Start or Child Care*:
Program name*:
Tribal affiliation: